top of page

Hardstone Psycho

mitchellshottakes

2 min read

Jun 20

0

0

What seems to be the next installment of Don Toliver’s musical journey. Fuck me im sorry, I just wanted to sound smart. Hardstone Psycho, a new album from Don Toliver is lowkey mid as fuck. This album in my opinion is weak. Like the music is good don’t get me wrong, its just ehh. I’m not exactly the biggest Toliver fan but I do think that he’s managed to elevate majority of the tracks hes been on like Moon and Too Many Nights. Compared to Toliver’s older works like Life of a DON, Hardstone Psycho is wet.

I’d like to start off with saying that the instrumentals and producing is very nice, all the beats are fun and there were no songs where I was questioning what I was listening to. But that’s also my problem too. Its not that every single track sounds the same, its that theres never a break or disruption in the style of music. It’s fine if you enjoy this type of music but me personally, I thought he would spice things up more and maybe be more “creative”. That also then brings me onto the disc situation. I’m not gonna bitch and moan like Fantano and complain about the 4 discs, I’m just complaining about how underutilized it was. Theres honestly no point to the discs. If youre gonna do discs at least make it artistically impressive or create some contrast through the album. This entire record just feels like copy and pasted tracks that’s just been slapped on with autotune and rap features.


A positive was definitely the features on this album but then the only good songs that are on this record are the fucking songs full of features. Don Toliver as a solo artist did not deliver, the music is basic as and at times just disappointing. Also:


“I'm sippin' dropI ride my motorcycle, make her pussy pop”

Like buddy. Btw this part is just full of autotune, and it sounds like he’s burping while saying this which is just hilarious. Secondly, this entire track is just underwhelming. I don’t know how ive said that but ye. Bandit is honestly peak, the trap beats are so rough and static with its striking guitar riffs, BANDIT honestly breathes much needed life in the already dead album. Its ironic because despite the album being more hardcore than his older works, Hardstone Psycho somehow feels softer and more weaker compared to his older records.


I think my favourite track on the album would probably be ICE AGE. Travis and Don are a duo I can never get tired of and I think all my favourite tracks had a Travis feature on so ye.


I also think I’m gonna change the grading system into letters because I don’t want to do numbers anymore so I give this album a C+ (rough 6). Its not exactly a bad album, just something that’s lowkey forgettable and just stained with all the weaknesses of trap music.

mitchellshottakes

2 min read

Jun 20

0

0

Related Posts

bottom of page