top of page

In Rainbows: An Album Review

mitchellshottakes

4 min read

Jun 1

0

0

Despite not being my favorite Radiohead album, In Rainbows is still a beautifully mastered record. First of all, its simplicity, minimalistic style is something I respect a lot about Radiohead. Everything feels soulless yet authentic. I think this is one of Radiohead’s less experimental albums (hear me out) as it kind of tucks itself into Radiohead’s bed. But before we go night night on this review, I want to reveal some of the bed bugs. And theres quite a few of them.

15 Step

I guess it’s a good tone setter for the album. I appreciate the opening drums that drive the majority of the song. Its guitar chords are melodic and instill a sense of stagnant fear that rises up and down the album. Very aesthetically pleasing. The song slowly opens to reveal itself into a massive wormhole where you fall down a blend of psychic synths and the choppy and at times crusty drums. The lyrics, I mean they aren’t much. Radiohead’s lyrics aren’t really something I admire, and I know people think theyre fucking deep and shit, but I personally don’t give a flying fuck. Overall, 15 Step aligns itself on the weaker opening tracks to a Radiohead album, but a solid track, nonetheless. 15 Step is a solid 7.


Body Snatchers

Now this is what I want from a Radiohead. Its brash guitar, its drums, and the whiny singing blends into a perfect amalgamation of blatant noise and rhythm. It’s noisy. It’s messy. It’s whack. A perfect 9. I think what Radiohead does well is the placement of breaks. When I mean breaks I mean these short moments where they let the listener breathe. To process what they’ve just listened to but also prepare what’s next. The small guitar riffs and interplays create a perfect transition to the second half of the track that just gets messier and messier. I feel like my body is getting ripped apart by the end of the track. A perfect 9.


Nude

Oh my god. It’s beautiful. It’s such a tonal shift and the first few seconds of the opening is heavenly. Nude is a solid 8.


Weird Fishes/Arpeggi

I don’t know if people are going to like this one. So, I guess I’ll start with the drums. It’s nice. The opening is nice as well, the guitar is incredibly solid and the shift into a minor tone was perfect. Personally, I don’t think I fuck with this song as much as everyone else, but I can appreciate why many people like it. I honestly think the song is devoid of basically everything and I believe this is intentional but what sets Radiohead apart is that it still had humanity despite being stripped away from all emotion. So its lowkey kind of goofy. Maybe I just don’t get it. To me, this song feels like a nothing burger, and maybe I’m more of a The Strokes fan but this song really just doesn’t hit it for me.


Extra Bits: Ok, so normally I write my review while I’m listening to the song and I kind of already form an opinion or number by like halfway through the track, so I guess I’m a little special. I just listened to what I believe was the “Arpeggi” part. I get it now. The transition is stellar. The ending is stellar. The space that’s being filled is peak and honestly saved this song from me giving it a 4. Is it still one of the best songs ive heard in the album? I doubt it. I’ll give Weird Fishes a weird 7.


All I Need

This song is literally all I need. A strong 9.


Faust Arp

I can appreciate the elements incorporated in this track; I just can’t get past the singing. I can always appreciate a good violin, but I don’t think it’s enough to save this song. Honestly, this song would be perfect if there was no singing. Am I a hater? Probably. I love the instrumentals on this song so much, but it just gets ruined by the singing. I think it’s even more annoying that you can’t really hear the singing. The mixing on this track is odd because it feels way too loud for something to be quiet. If the singing was brought up and actually emphasized, I would probably like it but the fact that it’s so soft it pisses me the fuck off. And sure, people are going to say “oh but it adds depth and layers to the song” I don’t give a fuck. If it’s shit. It’s shit. Faust Arp is a weak 3.


Reckoner

Oh boy. This album really took a nosedive huh. I’m just fucking with you. Its ok. I don’t know why it has so many listens because I think this song is just so mid. The tambourine in the background is so ear rapey it’s like please turn it down. Literally if they just had the guitar and singing it would be good. But of course, they must add the tambourine, so of course they must bring my score down. The ending is really nice but it’s just a tiny bit too late to get good. I reckon Reckoner deserves a strong 7.

House Of Cards

I fuck with it. Strong 8.


Jigsaw Falling Into Place

What seems to be my favorite track on the album. It does everything for me for a Radiohead song. It’s menacing. Stinky. Dirty. The guitar is peak. Drums do the job. AND THE SINGING DOESN’T PISS ME OFF. WOOHOO. Holy fucking shit, I’ve been so pissed off by the singing in this record but singing in this track is actually a strong attribute. The guitar on this is something I constantly go back to when listening to this track because it’s just so yucky. Its honestly a 10.


Videotape

Wackadoodle. I give it a 2.


I don’t even want to write a conclusion to be honest. Like I’m a fan of Radiohead but that ending was so fucking lackluster holy shit. Like I don’t want every single ending track to be a full on orchestra, I just want it to be good. Videotape is not good. I was honestly going to give this album a very strong 9 because the majority of these songs are bangers but that last song really pisses me off. So, for now, In Rainbows ends with just a 9. Yep, all by itself. No extra words attached. It’s just 9.

mitchellshottakes

4 min read

Jun 1

0

0

Related Posts

bottom of page