top of page

To Pimp A Butterfly: An Album Review

May 15

4 min read

5

42

Soulful, groovy, immaculate. 3 words to describe arguably the best album opening. I was very hesitant to listen to this album because I didn’t really understand his music and now im just disappointed that I didn’t listen to this sooner. Firstly, the album cover itself. It resonates with me, sings with me, just with the boisterous instrumentals spread throughout the album, the bombastic energy plastered on the album cover confirms that it will forever be a classic. Wesley’s Theory’s opening sample is amazing and sets a very groovy but serious tone that would carry this idea through the entire album. The instrumentals itself is essentially perfect. Its loud and funky beats mixed with what I believe are like very jazzy street drums just make me wanna jump and bop to the music. The vocals on the other hand feels kind of diluted with its weird voice filter however it just makes me focus the swirling fun of beats. Wesley’s theory is a strong 8.


King Kunta:

King Kunta, King Kunta KING KUNTA. That’s basically it. Moderate 9. I’d give it a strong but it’s a little repetitive, not to say its not good, but ehh, diversity. The bubbly instrumentals are such a unique tough and sets a very nice tone for the rest of the album. Kendrick's vocals also seem manipulated in a way that he sounds underwater, and it works really well.


Institutionalized. Its lackluster and sudden beat switch from its overall instrumental and energy in the first two songs was a massive surprise but a nice one. Its more softer and more lyrics focused song worked like a charm on me and having Snoop Dogg as a feature was a very nice touch. The runtime however is something that’s been bugging me however Kendrick fans love it so I find no problem. Moderate 8.


These Walls:

These Walls, is fucking atmospheric. The instrumentals resemble something out of Grand Theft Auto and it’s a vibe. Kendrick Lamar, I don’t listen to much of your music but you’re doing a great job in making me a fan. The energy remains stagnant throughout most of the track and still manages to add depth to the album. Solid 8.


U:

U. I’m still trying to process what ive listened to. Strong 7. Its beat is nice, its vocals are intense and captivating, and really the main focus on this song. So far the album maintains a good balance of instrumentally driven and lyrically driven, so far TPAB will have a very positive review.


Alright:

Alright. The name of the song is very alluding. This song is far from alright, its almost perfect. From the massive instrumentals, to the vocals at the end, it keeps the song violent, cruel, beautiful. It hits you with so many things and overwhelms you at times. It’s a perfect song for me, so I’ll have to give it a 10.

Momma is just a song that adds runtime and substance to the album. The beats are unique but nothing particularly outstanding or catching my attention. Lamar’s distinct voice puts this song in a tight rope of intense and ethereal. Overall it’s a solid song, a moderate 7.

Hood Politics:

I don’t fuck with Hood Politics. Sorry. The rhyming pattern is hilarious, the boo-boo part is such a weird add and it just removes the tension Kendrick normally builds up throughout the rest of the other songs. The lyrics are superb though so that bumps up this score to a moderate 7.


How Much A Dollar Cost:

How Much A Dollar Cost is immaculate. I don’t know if underrated is the right word but this just screams good rap. The instrumentals are perfect, it keeps the song going but still not intruding on the powerful lyricism Kendrick provides. The transitions are particularly nice with a small piano feature and auto-tuned vocals, it allows time to breath before dunking your head back into the murky voice of Mr Morale. How Much A Dollar Cost is an honest vibe, and an honest 8.


The Blacker the Berry

I don’t have much to say because im just gonna glaze the fuck out of this song. A strong 8.

 

i:

I love this song. The intro highlights the connection that Kendrick has to the masses. The rapping is phenomenal, the guitar is amazing. Even the fucking cowbell. This combination reminds me of Sofrito’s saxophone soli and its so groovy. The bridge is particularly fun as you hear a different combination of voices, guitar chords, and cowbells and how it immerses yourself in the mind of Lamar. i is an incredibly strong 9.


TPAB is just another album that adds to Kendrick’s almost perfect discography. I tried to look through this album with a critical lense but its kinda hard when nearly every song is enjoyable. He manages to make a perfect blend of high energy rap, forceful rap, and chill rap. TPAB will cement itself in my list of favourite albums. TPAB is a moderate 9.

May 15

4 min read

5

42

bottom of page